S.N.A.T.C.H

Struggle
Not possible
Abnormal
Tooooooomanythingsatthesametime
Challenging
Highly frustrating

So.. this thing called Snatch is quite the.. thing. Because CrossFit combines so many things, there are things in which I suck big time and things in which I suck less. The thing I suck at most besides double unders.. is the Snatch. The name alone says enough about the complexity of this move.

I asked Wikipedia the exact description of the Snatch, which is the following:

The snatch is the first of two lifts contested in the sport of weightlifting (also known as olympic weightlifting) followed by the clean and jerk. The objective of the snatch is to lift the barbell from the ground to overhead in one continuous motion.

When I ask myself to give a description of the Snatch, it would be something like:

#%#@^@^^@%@$*@&!^!&$*$#

See the difference?

The Snatch knows 6 phases:
– First pull
– Second pull
– Final explosive pull (I googled this, I don’t make these things up)
– Final acceleration
– Unsupported squat phase
– Supported squat under

And all of this has to be done within a split second. No pause, (unless you do a paused Snatch…), just one giant ball of explosiveness to get as much pounds in the air as possible. With the right technique, that is. And that’s the hard part. Ofcourse I can bring the bar from ground to overhead. And if I don’t take too much weight, I can still pull a Snatch-like thing off, but when the weight goes up, technique goes down and all of a sudden it becomes a muscle snatch. That doesn’t make sense it all, because getting underneath the bar becomes more important when the weight goes up. The thing is, I am a chicken! With heavy weight (heavy.. I mean, heavy for me, you can probably lift this with one hand and the other one in your pants) I don’t dare to dive underneath the bar anymore. And that’s were things go wrong and that’s were I struggle.

No, that’s a lie. That’s one part of the struggle. The other part is uh.. everything else :’) I mean, come on.. who made this up? I am sure that whoever invented the Snatch doesn’t have any friends at all and has plenty of time to come up with things that are SO hard. And yet I know for sure that one day I will get it. And at that point, I will probably love the Snatch. Because nothing feels as good as doing something that caused you many headaches before. Can we just fast forward to that day..

Please?

FullSizeRender

Geef een reactie

