Believe you can and you are halfway there…

Today’s WOD was a typical ‘Nicky-gets-excited’ WOD. That’s not really a challenge though, everything with a bar gets me excited (a barbell.. I am not the typical alcoholic in the bar). So today’s workout involved Deadlifts and Box Jumps. Do 21-15-9 DL and BJ for time, which means.. as fast as you can. In our box it also means, as fast as you can without losing the right technique.

This counts for every movement ofcourse, but with the deadlift I always pay extra attention. I have no intention to ruin my back what so ever (that’s not a surprise, it is?) so technique is more important than time. Form over reps..

The RX of today’s WOD was 80 kilo’s for girls. I figured I should be able to pull that off, so I didn’t even think about it and just took the 80 kilo’s. My doubts began to cross my mind as I heard some guys also taking 80 kilo’s. Shit.. But ah well.. just go for it and I can always take off some weight. The first 10 reps went pretty solid. Touch and go, unbroken, feeling awesome and then.. all of a sudden ‘BOOM’, like my 80 kilo’s became 29898101 kilo’s all of a sudden. I had to choose for 1 rep at the time and drop the bar everytime in between the reps, This way I managed to struggle through the first 21 reps. The 21 Box Jumps felt a bit shaky after the deadlifts and I realized the workout wasn’t called ‘spaghetti legs’ for nothing..

On to the second set. 15 deadlifts. After about 2 I thought to myself ‘what am I doing, this is too heavy’. And then this second voice comes in. You know that voice that tells you to keep going because you can do it? If that voice gets in tune with your mind, immediately your strength increases. It is weird but awesome at the same time. Almost magical. You can do way more than you think, as long as you believe you can. The second you start saying to yourself ‘I can’t do this’, the second you lose strength. So, I believed I could, and I did. It wasn’t easy, I was the last one the finish, but I did it. And that feeling gives me energy and brings me happiness all day long.

Mindset and focus are just as important as strength and endurance. Mind over matter, your body is capable of magical things, as long as you believe it is!

Don’t let mental blocks control you. Set yourself free. Confront your fear and turn the mental blocks into building blocks.

And yeah I look ugly as hell in the picture and no I don’t care 😉

IMG_6997

Geef een reactie

